The Garden of Truth : The Vision and Promise of Sufism, Islam's Mystical Traditionebook ISBN 006162599X

The Garden of Truth : The Vision and Promise of Sufism, Islam's Mystical Tradition

Description

Sufism has made significant contributions to the spread of Islam and the development of various aspects of Islamic civilisation. Many conservative Muslims disagree with many popular Sufi practices, particularly saint worship, the visiting of tombs, and the incorporation of non-Islamic customs. Consequently, in recent centuries Sufism has been a target for Islamic reformist and modernist movements. Nasr is the preeminent Sufi scholar in the U.S., and in the tradition of Martin Buber's I and Thou, here provides the beliefs and vision of the mystical heart of Islam. A gentle anitdote to the extremist Muslim fundamentalists who capture the headlines and taint our perception of the world's fastest growing religion.

Similar Books

ISBN 10: 1851686258
ISBN 13: 9781851686254

30 Mar 2009
Majid Fakhry

ISBN 10: 0872208710
ISBN 13: 9780872208711

07 Sep 2007
Jon McGinnis

ISBN 10: 006251475X
ISBN 13: 9780062514752

17 Jan 2000
Clifton Fadiman

ISBN 10: 1439195463
ISBN 13: 9781439195468

14 Jun 2018
Robert Wright

ISBN 10: 0060730641
ISBN 13: 9780060730642

07 Oct 2004
Seyyed Hossein Nasr

ISBN 10: 0140444343
ISBN 13: 9780140444346

13 Mar 2012
Farid Attar

ISBN 10: 0199552312
ISBN 13: 9780199552313

15 Oct 2008
Jalal Al-Din Rumi

ISBN 10: 0691178313
ISBN 13: 9780691178318

16 Jan 2018
Shahab Ahmed

ISBN 10: 1597311316
ISBN 13: 9781597311311

22 Aug 2011
Kenneth Oldmeadow

ISBN 10: 0946621292
ISBN 13: 9780946621293

01 Dec 1997
Abd Al-Qadir Al-Jilani

ISBN 10: 0941532887
ISBN 13: 9780941532884

01 Oct 2005
William Chittick

ISBN 10: 1933316500
ISBN 13: 9781933316505

21 May 2008
Titus Burckhardt